Starting solids
Now Freya is 6 months she has started eating food! I've never been keen on purée stuff, looks and often smells yuck. So as with Alanna, Freya is going down the baby led weaning route.
For those not familiar with it, this website will explain it better http://www.babyledweaning.com/
Basically, it means Freya feeds herself. I cut up food into manageable chunks, but then it's over to her. If she can get the food from the tray to her mouth, the her mouth muscles are likely to deal with it. Bit more mess, but normally means once they have the hang of it you can eat your meal as well.
You have to allow that while they are what what food is, they may gag. I'm in the process of explaining it to the others. I'm going to print out the difference between gagging and choking.
We starting Freya on solids is now going to be a challenge for us to find healthier foods/meals. I've got quite slack at bung it in the oven meals, I need to cook properly again.
Sausage and mash was the meal today. Mash was squashed, a small amount of broccoli consumed and sausage meat sucked off the skin.
We like toast for breakfast
We've tried omelette
Rice
And yesterday banana
I haven't yet found a food she doesn't like. She's also tried, ham, orange, apple, cucumber and grapes. However , we seem to be increasing our night feeds, from none to one to two tonight. I'm hoping it's a growth spurt, and not linked to food! Will have to see...
Comments
Post a Comment